AFS India organised a three-day North Zone School meeting hosted by SelaQui International School, Dehradun from April 19 – 21, 2024 to enable schools in northern India to connect and become an active part of the AFS India network. The meeting witnessed the participation of 34 schools from the North of India. 

The event began with the warm welcome of Mr. Rashid Sharfuddin, the principal of SelaQui International School, followed by the addresses by Mr. Sanjeev Chopra, retired IAS officer and now the patron and honorary consultant of the Valley of Words International Literary Festival who spoke on Inclusion, the theme of the annual meeting. Echoing Mr. Chopra’s message, Ms. Diya Badgel, National Direction of AFS India also talked about how AFS builds inclusivity in educational spaces. We were also honored by the presence of Dr. Sumer Singh, founder of MU 20 Schools of Opportunity, and Mr. Satyam Sahai, a 15-time Iron Man of India, along with a panel discussion on Inclusivity which equally inspired the audience. During the meeting, Mr. Sumer Singh also announced the forthcoming OXFORD MUN, a collaborative initiative between AFS India and MU20 schools of opportunities, promising life-changing intercultural exchanges for deserving students. 


The event included a session on Global Citizenship and the role AFS plays in developing active global citizens by one of our YES’15 Alumnus, Prachi Pundir. Students in the event also were able to engage in a community service project wherein they conducted a session on menstrual hygiene with locals in a nearby village. There was also a talk by the Principal of Doon International School, Dehradun, Dr. Jagpreet Singh who moved the audience with his insightful thoughts on the work of AFS.  Before the session ended, the AFS Team had an interactive session with AFS coordinators and school heads, and towards the end, student representatives from each school shared their key takeaways from the AFS North Zone Meeting. 


Participating Member Schools

  1. SelaQui International School, Dehradun (Host School)
  2. Sunbeam English School, Bhagwanpur
  3. All Saints’ College, Nainital
  4. Sunbeam School, Sarnath
  5. Dolphin International School, Pulwama
  6. Sunbeam School, Ballia
  7. Pinegrove School, Dharampur
  8. Welham Girls’ School, Dehradun
  9. Yadavindra Public School, Mohali
  10. Sunbeam School, Mughalsarai
  11. Heritage School, Jammu
  12. Vantage Hall Girls Residential School, Dehradun
  13. Welham Boys’ School Dehradun
  14. Unison World School, Dehradun
  15. Sunbeam School, Varuna, Varanasi
  16. Sunbeam School, Suncity, Varanasi
  17. Jindal Vidya Mandir Sholtu
  18. Delhi Public School, Ghaziabad
  19. ASN Senior Secondary School, Delhi
  20. Sunbeam School, Lahartara, Varanasi
  21. The Mann School, Delhi
  22. Mount Litera Zee School, Roorkee
  23. Delhi Public School, Bathinda
  24. Vidya Devi Jindal School, Hisar
  25. The Punjab Public School, Nabha
  26. Tula’s International School, Dehradun
  27. Pathways World School, Aravali, Gurugram
  28. The British Co-Ed High School, Patiala
  29. The Doon School, Dehradun
  30. Delhi Public School, Pathankot
  31. Invictus International School, Amritsar
  32. Maa Anandmayee Memorial School, Raiwala, Dehradun
  33. Cambridge International School, Palampur
  34. Pratap World School