AFS Cricket League was kick started, its 1st National Level Cricket Tournament with the playoff matchers on 11th-12th Feb, in all four Host Ports, namely Gandhinagar, Varanasi, Chennai & Mumbai. Across pan India, there were 13 teams’ representations from 14 chapters, which lead to six winners from all the 4 Host Ports. The Semi-Final & Final match was hosted by Vadodara on 26th March, 2017, and the winner of AFS India Cricket League is Rajkot team with added players from Kadi and Mumbai, while Anand was the runner-up.

From left: Group, Mexican volunteers playing Cricket, Man of the Match, Vadodara, March 2017, Man of the Series, Vadodara, March 2017

The AFS Cricket League playoffs were successful because of the ownership of the responsibilities chosen voluntarily to promote the basic idea of togetherness through this AFS Cricket League at National Level. Special thanks to all the chapters for hosting the National Level matches.

From left: Core Committee, IND Staffers & Volunteers.

We’d like to appreciate the five member Cricket Core Committee members were comprised of selected volunteers namely,

  • Ms. Sonal Mehta, Ms. Preeti Gohel & Mr. Parth Patel from Vadodara;
  • Mr. Yashodhan Shinde from Pune &
  • Mr. Shalin Dave from Anand,

They all ensured the stimulation of constant follow ups and relaying of the information, from its initial stage to become a well connected AFS Cricket League. AFS India is very thankful to each one of them for giving their time, energy and commitment.